Taking Your Sales to the Next Level: Tips to Improve Your Average Order Value During the Great Singapore Sale

eCommerce

The Great Singapore Sale (GSS) is one of the biggest shopping events of the year in Singapore, where retailers offer massive discounts and promotions to attract shoppers. As a business owner, it is important to take advantage of this event and boost your sales. 

Increasing your average order value (AOV) is one way to do this. 

In this blog post, we'll explore how you can increase your AOV during the Great Singapore Sale (or any other festive season in the future). 

What is Average Order Value (AOV) and why does it matter?

Average Order Value (AOV) is the average customers spent on an individual order placed. The formula for calculating the AOV is REVENUE / TOTAL NUMBER OF ORDERS.

For example: If your store had total revenue of $1,000 split between 100 orders for the month of November, your average order value would be $10. This means that each order is, on average, $10.

AOV is a key performance indicator used to understand customers’ purchasing habits.

Knowing this will help you evaluate your overall online marketing efforts and pricing strategy by giving you the metrics needed to measure the long-term value of individual customers.

Sometimes businesses focus most of their energy on increasing traffic to a website when it would be more profitable to increase their AOV since increasing traffic typically costs money while increasing AOV does not. Furthermore, there is an acquisition cost per customer and order, increasing your AOV is a way to drive direct revenue and increase your profits when customers are already buying from your store.

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So what can you do to increase your AOV?

Now we know you are probably wondering what are some of the steps that you can take to increase your AOV, and how you can entice your customers to add more items to their carts.

Successful strategies for increasing AOV include:

Cross-selling: “How about some wine glasses to go with the wine you just ordered?”

Upselling: “Would you like this bottle of champagne for only $10 more than the one in your cart?”

Volume discounts: “This wine costs $35, but you’ll save 30% if you buy 2 or more.”

Free shipping: (for a higher minimum purchase)

Coupons: “Spend $50 and get $5 off your next purchase!”

Return policy: “Feel free to send them back if you’re not satisfied”

Here are several of our apps that can help you increase your AOV and sales, especially during this upcoming holiday season.

1. Upsell & Bundles

SHOPLINE Upsell & Bundles app

One way you can get your customers to purchase more items in a single checkout is by setting up product bundles with a set discount if the items are purchased together.

By providing better-perceived value to customers when they purchase the bundle in a form of a discount, they are more likely to make the purchase which in turn increases your AOV.

This works exceptionally well with complementary products since the product bundle saves customer time by removing the need to look for them. For example, bundling up a phone with a phone case and giving a discount on this bundle, it helps your customer purchase both items with a single click.

2. Product Recommendation

SHOPLINE Product Recommendation app

At times, your customers may be fixated on purchasing just a specific product that they need from your store and overlook the rest of the items that are available. What if there is a way for you to recommend them other products that they might be interested in?

Using our product recommendation app allows you to display products that are related to the primary product that the customers are viewing, you can then recommend the products of your choice or use its artificial intelligence ability for easier targeting.

This is a wonderful approach to entice your consumers to browse for more things rather than focusing on the one product that they are buying.

3. Wishlist

SHOPLINE Wishlist app

How convenient would it be to just give a link to your wishlist to your loved ones so they can purchase a gift directly?

With our Wishlist app, your customers can easily add an item to their wishlist. This makes it easy for them to browse their favorite items and add them immediately to their shopping cart.

If an item is out of stock, adding the item to the wishlists also allows an email notification to be sent when there is a restock reminding them to visit the store to checkout the item. Even better, the system will also notify them when there is a price drop, perfect for your bargain hunters to add more of their favourite items to their cart!

4. Member system

SHOPLINE Member System app

For businesses, the probability of selling to an existing customer is 60% to 70%, compared to a new potential customer at only 5% to 20%.

Consider setting up a loyalty program for your business, especially if you are selling products that often require repurchase. 

Loyalty programs help you build relationships with your customers and help them stay loyal to your brand by offering them special prices. For example, the more a customer spends, the higher their tier will be and rewards are more attractive as they progress higher up the tiers.

Speak with our consultants now to find out more!

It takes more than just marketing and traffic alone to help generate more sales. Thinking of ways to increase your AOV is one of the more effective ways to drive more revenue in the long run but it is often the most overlooked.

This Great Singapore Sale season is going to be great so prepare for it with the tips above and start selling more!

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